how to get marijuana charges dripped in ohio
How to Get Marijuana Charges Dropped
If you are facing charges for marijuana possession in Ohio, you may be wondering how to get them dropped. There are several defenses to marijuana possession charges. One of the most common is a violation of the state’s drug laws, which can include unlawful search and seizure. The police are not always following state and federal laws when conducting searches, including when probable cause wasn’t present or a search warrant wasn’t properly executed. apply for medical marijuana card ny ptsd
In order to successfully fight your charges, you must prove your innocence. The state of Ohio offers an affirmative defense for people who believe they were only using marijuana for personal use. However, even if the defendant can successfully argue this defense, he or she can still be found guilty of a misdemeanor. If the amount of marijuana was less than 20 grams, the punishment is a small fine, which equates to an inexpensive and quick trip to the store. However, if you are convicted for possession twice, the fine and jail time can be significantly higher.
The legality of marijuana possession in Ohio is quite strict. Possession and cultivation are illegal and have serious consequences, including the loss of your driver’s license, prison time, and other consequences. A marijuana conviction can also impact your future employment and educational opportunities. A drug conviction may even impact your right to own a firearm. Thus, it is important to hire a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney to ensure that your rights are protected.
If you have been arrested for marijuana possession in Ohio, you should immediately contact an experienced attorney for assistance. The best way to protect yourself is to take action as soon as possible. Your future will be ruined if you have a marijuana charge on your record. Therefore, it’s important to find an experienced expungement lawyer to help you get your record exempted from the state’s public records.
If the law finds that you have possession of drugs in Ohio, you will be required to show that you had a legitimate prescription for the drug. Depending on the state’s drug laws, possession of Schedule I or II drugs may result in prison time of up to 10 years. Additionally, possession of Schedule III drugs is illegal without a prescription and can be punishable with fines up to $20,000. However, if you can complete a pre-trial diversion program, you will not face jail time. Your defense attorney can also show that the police searched you illegally and that you were a victim of unlawful drug possession.
Depending on the amount of marijuana you possess, a marijuana charge can be dropped in Ohio. It’s important to remember that smaller amounts can still be dismissed as misdemeanors. If you’ve only had one gram, you will only face a five-day jail sentence. A felony conviction for marijuana will carry a two to eight-year prison sentence.